Thank you sweet lil’ eight pound, six ounce, newborn Baby Jesus, in your golden, fleece diapers, with your curled-up, fat, balled-up little fists pawin’ at the air…

For those of you who were worried about whether or not I would have my Manhattan on Wednesday, you may rest easy.  I went to Oak Bar with the hubs and a lovely (anonymous) reader.  The Manhattan and the meal were a much needed respite from an otherwise awful week.  

For those of you who have yet to hit up Oak, you should really put it on your list of places to try.  The space is small yet it feels big and the decor is right up my alley – modern without being fussy, but still reminiscent of the design aesthetic that is decidedly “NOLA.”  They serve tapas and, in my opinion, the food was kind of hit or miss but the beverages were excellent.  And, let’s face it, the drinks are really always the most important thing.  I tried some other beverages in addition to the Manhattan and plan on making one my next Drink Recipe of the Week; so you’ll have to wait…in suspense…it’s killing you isn’t it?  

FYI – no one even bothered to guess the bonus question from Wednesday.  I’m heartbroken people – I slave over a keyboard to provide you with fabulous amazing mediocre witticisms and I get nothing in return.  I shouldn’t reward the behavior; but for those of you who are dying to know – it was from The West Wing – probably one of my all-time favorite television shows.  

Later peeps – hope you have a wonderful weekend.


