It’s the first week of DECEMBER!  And the temperature in our fair NOLA has actually fallen below 80.  It’s a Christmas miracle!  And of course, this week’s recipe will be in keeping with my holiday theme.

THE POINSETTIA GIMLET!

Which reminds me of one of my favorite blogs…The Gimlet Eye!  The go to place for all of your design idea needs.

Anyway, back to the recipe.  You will need the following:

  • 1 12 oz bottle of sweetened lime juice
  • 1 cup of gin (not sure what would taste better in this one, but just as an aside, Hendrick’s is my latest fave)
  • 1/2 cup pomegranate juice
  • 1/4 cup fresh lime juice
  • 4 12 oz cans of Sprite (or the like)
  • lime slices

Stir together sweetened lime juice, gin, pomegranate juice, and fresh lime juice.  Chill 2 hours.  Before serving, stir in Sprite.  Serve over ice and garnish with lime slices.  I haven’t tried this one yet either (I’m sensing a theme here, but honestly – I’m generally drinking two things – wine or bourbon) so forgive me.  Now, I’m not a fan of really sweet drinks, which I could see this one being, so if you feel the same I’m thinking you could decrease the amount of sweetened lime juice and use more of the fresh lime juice and pomegranate juice.  You also might consider using ginger ale rather than the Sprite.

Here’s hoping December treats my peeps right!  Cheers!

