It’s getting closer to Christmas people!  Speaking of which, can you guess what the BEST Christmas movie of all time is?

SCROOGED.  You might have thought I was going to say, A Christmas Story – but that’s sort of a gimmie people.  Bill Murray holds a special place in my heart and he is awesome sauce in that movie.  I like to think Bill and I would get along famously; you know trash talking each other and random strangers over cocktails, like say…

The Original Chatham Artillery Punch.  See what I did there?  Huh?  It’s called a segue people.  Bow down to the master.

Anyway, here are the deets.  You will need:

  • 8 lemons
  • 1 pound superfine sugar
  • 750-milliliter bottle of bourbon or rye
  • 750-milliliter bottle of Cognac
  • 750-milliliter bottle of dark Jamaican rum
  • 3 bottles of Champagne or other sparkling wine
  • Nutmeg.

First, squeeze and strain the lemons to make 16 ounces of juice.  For those of you who are lazy, you could probably use the lemon juice from a bottle, but I think the  fresh stuff would ultimately taste better.  So if you go the lazy route and your punch sucks, don’t come crying to me.  Next, peel the lemons and muddle the peels with the sugar.  Let the peels and sugar sit for an hour, then muddle again.  Add the lemon juice to the muddled mixture and stir until the sugar has dissolved.  Strain out the peels.

Then, fill a 2 to 3 gallon bucket (haha, a bucket – who does this joker think we are…oh, right then…carry on) or punchbowl with crushed ice or ice cubes.  Side note – I have been told that Sonic, maker of the BEST ice on Earth, sells their ice and you would be considered a god in your circle of friends if you bought some for your holiday imbibing – but only if you invite me.  Add the lemon-sugar mixture and the bourbon, Cognac and rum.  Stir and add the Champagne.  Taste and adjust for sweetness.  Grate nutmeg over the top and serve.

This punch is described as “strong and serious, unfussy yet with a sense of luxury” – LIKE ME!  But mostly, I’d have to agree with Drex’ assessment of this cocktail, “I like the sound of the punch.  But I’d like anything with 5 bottles of booze in it.  Excuse me.  6 bottles of booze.”

Well said, sir.  Well said, indeed.

Cheers!

P.S.  Bonus points for whoever can name the drink of choice for Francis Xavier Cross, the main character in Scrooged. Hint – It’s an oldie but a goodie.

