I am a slacker.  I admit it.  I had a few days off last week and instead of updating my blog with the DRW, I cleaned my house, ran errands and watched movies whilst eating bonbons.  OK, that last one isn’t true.  I actually did laundry while waiting for the plumber.  You can add to that the fact that I had a cold.  Over Christmas.  My cup runneth over.

All that aside, I had a decent holiday.  There was booze, too much food, lounging in front of fires and catching up with the fam.  Which brings me to the DRW, a cocktail that was introduced to me by the hubs oh so many years ago when we started dating.  The Bourbon Milk Punch.

You will need the following:

  • 2 quarts whole milk
  • 2 cups half-and-half
  • 2 cups bourbon
  • 1 cup brandy
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 2.5 tablespoons vanilla extract
  • Freshly grated nutmeg, for garnish.

Directions:  In a pitcher, combine milk, half-and-half, bourbon, brandy, sugar and vanilla.  Stir then place in freezer until slushy (at least 3 to 4 hours).  Before serving stir well.  Pour into chilled glasses, sprinkle with nutmeg.

This drink is always a hit at parties and has become a mainstay in my family’s holiday celebrations.  In fact, we were late putting it out at Martha “F*cking” Stewart’s recent Holiday Open House and a line developed at the bar while it was being poured into the serving pitchers.  Bunch of booze hounds…it’s clear I come by it honestly.

