So yesterday sucked for various reasons, all of which were work-related, and left me feeling like I needed a drink.  Only the thought of having to get up to meet Trainer Gary this morning kept me from “getting my head in a jug.”  For those of you who have never been to the Delta, getting one’s head in a jug means you are Drunk Face.  I learned this gem from my mother-in-law, maker of the best Bloody Marys I’ve ever had in my life.  If you’re nice, I might share the recipe with you one day.

But today is not that day – sad face for you.  Instead, I shall share with you my latest favorite cocktail – the Old Fashioned.  I had several over the Thanksgiving and Christmas holidays.

 

Helllllooooo Gorgeous

 

The recipes vary, but this one is my favorite.  You will need the following:

  • 2 1/2 oz. Whiskey (I prefer Makers Mark, but I won’t judge you for using Jack Daniels – however, I WILL judge you for using the “cheap” stuff)
  • 1 Maraschino Cherry (with some of the juice)
  • Bitters
  • Water (I believe MY Old Fashioned drink engineer, otherwise known as J-ston, uses club soda)
  • 1 orange slice
  • 1 sugar cube

In a high ball glass, dissolve the sugar with the water or club soda.  Add the orange, cherry and bitters to taste and muddle thoroughly.  Stir in ice and whiskey; serve.  You can garnish with another orange slice if you feel like being fancy.

Go forth and Old Fashioned yourselves, my peeps.  You won’t be sorry.  Cheers!

