I think there’s something about Tuesdays that drives me apeshit.  Mondays suck, but at least everyone feels downtrodden.  Bring on a Tuesday and suddenly I’m experiencing an onslaught of crap that makes me feel stabby.  So once again I’m left needing a drink.

Enter the Sidecar.  This one was introduced to me by a lovely follower whilst dining at Galatoire’s for Boxing Day in 2009.  It can tend to be a bit on the sweet side but sometimes it’s OK to have a girly cocktail.  Provided you’re not drinking an Amaretto Sour.  Word to the wise – only hookers drink those – and college girls, which is sort of the same thing, amiright?

You will need the following:

  • 1.5 oz Cognac
  • 3/4 oz Cointreau
  • 3/4 oz lemon juice

This drink is typically served in a sugar-rimmed martini glass.  Pour all ingredients into a shaker with ice then stir (or shake – if you want a watered down cocktail), pour into the martini glass and garnish with a strip of lemon rind.

Enjoy my peeps.

