This week’s DRW is in honor of J.Coop’s upcoming nuptials.  The lovely couple is opening their home to a bunch of drunken buffoons tomorrow and will be serving a variation on the Skip ‘n Go Naked.  Personally, the thought of having a party that will result in total annihilation of my home two days before my wedding frightens me – but ah, the follies of youth!  I shall drink and be merry and then go to work on Friday and try not to throw up in my trashcan.  (wink)

Anyway, the drink is the Beer Margarita.

You will need the following:

  • Four 12-ounce bottles of cold light-flavored beer (I usually use Miller Lite)
  • 1 cup tequila (we’re not talking the good stuff, but don’t cheap out either – we’re adults here it’s OK to splurge, especially if it’s on booze)
  • 1 can (12 ounces) frozen limeade concentrate – thawed
  • Lime wedges
  • Kosher salt, for rimming glasses

In a large pitcher, combine the beer, tequila and limeade. Rub a lime wedge around the rim of each of glass and dip it in the salt. Pour the margaritas into the glasses and garnish with a lime wedge.

A word on rimming glasses with salt.  I do not like it and thus, am of the opinion that the standard when ordering a marg or the like should be NO salt and one should have to ask FOR the salt.  I believe this because it is HELLA difficult to remove the salt from the glass – it gets EVERYWHERE, including in the drink and I’m not one to send a drink back because THAT IS A WASTE OF BOOZE.  In short, receiving a glass with salt when you don’t like it is far more of a travesty than when someone orders a salted glass and was not given one.  Ya feel me?  OK.  I’m getting off my soap box now.

Anyway – a huge shout out to J.Coop and her fancy plaintiffs’ lawyer soon-to-be hubs.  We are all looking forward to the festivities.  I’m even wearing a dress.  You have no idea what this means…

 

