It’s Wednesday!  And I actually have a DRW!  It’s a Christmas Miracle!  Ok, enough with the exclamation points.  Somewhere out there an English teacher is rolling over in his or her grave.

So I was actually shocked that I have somehow overlooked this drink for the DRW – as it’s a personal fave.  Especially during NOLA summers when it’s hotter than the hellfires where I will likely be spending eternity.  And now, without further adieu, the DRW is…drumroll please….the Pimm’s Cup!

Here in NOLA, the Napoleon House has made the Pimm’s Cup famous – it’s their signature drink.  NH is also a delightful place to stop in and have a drink if you need a place to rest your weary feet – the food ain’t bad either.  That being said, the hubs recently advised that he had an amazing Pimm’s Cup at the Carousel Bar located in the Hotel Monteleone.

The trick with the Pimm’s Cup seems to depend on its maker and everyone does it a bit differently.  I’ll give you my fave below.

You will need:

Take a tall glass and fill with ice.  Pour 1/3 full of Pimm’s, then top with lemonade and leave room for a splash of ginger ale.  Garnish with a slice of cucumber.  Don’t be freaked by the cuke dudes.  Just trust me on this – it lends a lil’somethin’ to the drink and its absence would ruin the whole she-bang.

In closing, there truly is nothing better than sipping one of these while waiting for your swamp ass to dry out in the comfort of a bar that has set its AC to FREEZE.

Happy cocktails my peeps!

